ISO 22000:2018

ISO 22000:2018

Food Safety Management System


ISO 22000, Food safety management systems (FSMS) is an international standard developed by the International Organization for Standardization. It is used by organizations across the food chain to ensure the implementation of best food safety practices and help supply food that is safe to consume for consumers.

This standard aims at controlling food safety hazards along the food chain. To make sure that the ISO 22000 continue to serve organizations and keep its relevance in today’s market place, the standard now has been revised to 22000:2018 replacing the old ISO 22000:2005 standard. ISO 22000:2018 Food Safety Management system has been amended as per the High-Level Structure (HLS) and seeks to identify the most recent issues surrounding the food safety and keeping pace with the current needs of today’s food sector.

All industries practicing food supply and have been certified earlier to ISO 22000:2005 are supposed to migrate to the ISO 22000:2018 soon. The advantages of migration would that the ISO 22000:2018 is aligned to the new requirements of the standard and it is easier to integrate with other management systems


ISO 22000 is applicable to:

  • Food manufacturers.
  • Packers/distributors.
  • Transportation, storage and distribution services.
  • Food service outlets.
  • Harvesters of wild plants or animals.
  • Animal food producers.
  • Organizations providing cleaning and sanitation services.
  • Suppliers of cleaning and disinfectants.
  • Suppliers of packaging and other food contact materials.

The key changes & structure in the proposed standard are:

The newer version of this standard has been introduced to maximize the readability and clarity of the standard.

  • The Risk Based Approach: The revised version includes a different approach for understanding risk. The standard will differentiate between risk at two levels:

  • Operational level (through the Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point approach (HACCP))
  • Strategic level of the management system and its ability to reach its specific goals.

  • High level Structure: adopt the new High-Level Structure (HLS) developed and used by ISO to allow an easier implementation of an Integrated Management System.
  • PDCA Cycle: There will be two separate cycles in the standard clarifying the Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle with one covering the management system and the other covering the principles of HACCP.
  • Operation Process: Control measures are now categorized to be managed as Operational Prerequisite Programmes (OPRPs) or as Critical Control Points (CCPs). These measures are now related only to significant hazards and not managed at a Prerequisite Programmes (PRPs) level. The approach to identify each category is now different. Control measures managed as OPRPs have measurable action criteria while those managed at CCPs have only measurable critical limits that enable timely correction.

Consultancy Services Road Map:

  • Gap Analyses
  • Designing, Documentation and Implementation (System Development)
  • Internal Auditing
  • Management Review
  • Certification Process Guidance